Teach Plus Teaching Policy Fellowship

Oct 06, 2011

The Teach Plus Teaching Policy Fellowship provides teachers with a unique opportunity to have a voice in influencing policy that impacts their profession.  Fellows participate in monthly sessions that include personal interaction with key leaders in education, intensive research and education policy courses, and the opportunity to advocate for student and teacher policy.

Fellows making an impact:

“Teaching Policy Fellows have indirectly influenced policy by providing input into education policy, participating in high-stakes national conferences and panels, and publishing papers and articles.   For example, Teaching Policy Fellows have been invited to participate in NBC’s nationally-televised “Education Nation,” to work with National Teacher Quality Advisor Brad Jupp on the redesign of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, and to participate in the Gates Foundation’s Measures of Effective Teaching Panel for two consecutive years.  Teaching Policy Fellows have been invited to present and to comment on new research at the Center for American Progress, the Vanderbilt National Center on Performance Incentives, and a meeting convened by New Leaders for New Schools and the Aspen Institute to counsel state leaders on their Race to the Top proposals.  Teaching Policy Fellows have published memos and briefs on topics ranging from evaluation reform to the effects of inequitable teacher pay.  Additionally, they have been guest bloggers on the widely-read blog Eduwonk and have been featured in publications such as the New York Times, the Boston Globe, the Indianapolis Star, and the Washington Post“.  Read more

The Teach Plus Policy Fellowship selects 20 fellows annually, lasts for 18 months and provides a stipend of $2,400.  The program is designed for early career teachers with 3-10 years of experience.  Currently more than 100 fellows are engaging in big picture education reform in Boston, Chicago, Indianapolis, Los Angeles, and Memphis.  The program is expanding to Washington, D.C. in 2012.